2023 Literature Award Winners

Literature Awards

The Carol Kay Memorial Essay Prize

(Dealing with British Literature from 1500 to 1900)

Jill Stebelton: “The Persistence of Love and Domination in Eighteenth-Century England:  An Analysis of Elizabeth Inchbald’s A Simple Story

The James Snead Award for Best Undergraduate Essays

(Dealing with one or more of the following: Film, African-American Literature, American Literature, German Literature)

First Prize: Annabeth Collis, “‘All Eyes on Me’: Digital Identities and Parasocial Performativity in Bo Burnham’s Inside” and Sherry Wu, “Two First Halves”

Second Prize: Celina Zhao, “Traversing Asian American Identities: The Flag in Our Hearts” and Victoria Costa, “The Education of a Puppet: Pinnochio in Film Adaptations”

The J.K. and Gertrude Miller Prize

(For students who show special ability in English literature)

Luke Gabriel Morales 

Liam Tinker 

The Marlee and James Myers Award

(For Outstanding Students in the Department of English)

Annabeth Collis

Simon Sweeney 

Departmental Scholarship Funds Awarded this Year (2022-23)

Dorothy B. Burkhart Scholarship

Annabeth Collis

Patrick Francis

Gabriela Herring

Alexander Nieves

Anna Novak

Nekane Petrissans

Anthony Scholle

Simon Sweeney

Liam Tinker

Marilyn Hollinshead Scholarship

Anna Fischer

Haley Palubicki

Clare Sheedy

Caroline Waters

Susan Lippincott-Mack and Chris Mack Scholarship

Lydia Blazey

Alyssa Carnevali

Austin Kellar

Matthew Monroy

Abby Morgan

Tobin Richter

Elise Romero

Alexa Will