2022 Literature Awards Winners

Literature Awards

The Carol Kay Memorial Essay Prize in British Literature (1500-1900)

Caroline Waters

"Who Is the New Woman? A Question without an Answer"

Trezalka Budinsky

“The Horse and the Engine: Control and Creation of Life in a Mechanized Society”

Hailey Palubicki

“Sprezzatura and Grace:  Deciphering Power in Colonial Literature”

The James Snead Award for Best Undergraduate Essays

(Dealing with one or more of the following: Film, African American Literature, American Literature, German Literature)

Remi Wu

“Love Letters to Chinatown from Her Prodigal Daughter”

Ella Grant

“In Defense of the Author”

Emily Dioguardo

“Hollywood and Race:  A Move Toward Representation or a Whitewashed Fakeout?”

J. K. and Gertrude Miller Prize

(Students who show special ability in English [literature])

Anna Novak

Alexa Bove

The Marlee and James Myers Award for Outstanding Students in the Department of English  (literature major or minor)

Jacqueline Joo

Departmental Scholarship Funds Awarded this Academic Year (2020-21)

Marilyn Hollinshead Scholarship Fund

Hailey Palubicki

Clare Sheedy

Caroline Waters

Dorothy D. Burkhart Scholarship

Annabeth Collis

Anna Novak

Renee Cantor

Gabriel Field

Simon Sweeney

Susan Lippincott Mack and Chris Mack Merit Scholarship

Lauren Clark

Jacqueline Joo

Alexa Bove

Alexa Will

Edwin Coffman