Faculty

header image

Tenured and Tenure-stream Faculty

Mark Lynn Anderson

Associate Professor
andersml@pitt.edu

American cinema, film history, queer theory, and historiography

Susan Andrade

Associate Professor
sza@pitt.edu

Postcolonial literature, African, Caribbean, Feminism

Jonathan Arac

Andrew W. Mellon Professor
jarac@pitt.edu

American, British 19th Century, Criticism and Theory

David Bartholomae

Professor
Charles Crow Chair barth@pitt.edu

Composition, Literacy and Pedagogy, Rhetoric, American Literature/American Studies.

Don Bialostosky

Professor
Department Chair dhb2@pitt.edu
412-624-6509

British Romantic literature, rhetorical theory, Bakhtin, composition studies, rhetoric and poetics

Tyler Bickford

Associate Professor
Bickford@pitt.edu
412-624-2613

Children's Literature, Childhood Studies, Popular Culture, New Media, Education, Music and Language, and Ethnographic Methods

Troy Boone

Associate Professor
boone@pitt.edu

Nineteenth-century British literature, ecocriticism, children's literature

Paul Bové

Distinguished Professor
Editor, boundary 2 bove@pitt.edu
412-624-6523

Critical theory, Globalization, Modernism

Curtis Breight

Associate Professor
ccb@pitt.edu
412-624-3439

Shakespeare, English Renaissance literature

Jean Ferguson Carr

Associate Professor
jcarr@pitt.edu
412-624-6537

Composition, women’s studies, 19th-century American constructions of literacy and letters

Steve Carr

Associate Professor
scarr@pitt.edu

book history, archive studies, histories of instruction, 18th & 19th century literature and literacy, Blake

Nicholas Coles

Associate Professor
coles@pitt.edu
412-624-5551

Working class literature, the politics of literacy, 19th-century British culture

Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder

Assistant Professor
rodriguez.fielder@pitt.edu
412-624-6506

20th and 21st century U.S. and transnational literature, social movement activism, avant-gardism, multi-ethnic literature, migration narratives, and gender studies

Nancy Glazener

Professor
glazener@pitt.edu
412-648-2289

19th- and 20th-century American Literature

Piotr Gwiazda

Modern and contemporary poetry and poetics, U.S. literature, intertextuality studies, poetry and pedagogy, reader response theory, creative writing, and literary translation

Zach Horton

Assistant Professor
z.horton@pitt.edu

Intersection of technological mediation, ecology, and scale

Hannah Johnson

Associate Professor
Director - Literature Program hrj4@pitt.edu

Medieval historical writing, modern historiography

Ronald Judy

Literary & Cultural Theory, Islamic literature, Postcolonial literature

Colin MacCabe

Distinguished University Professor
maccabe@pitt.edu

C17 literature, C20 Literature & Media, Joyce, Film

Ryan McDermott

Associate Professor
rjm95@pitt.edu

Medieval, history of exegesis, genealogies of modernity,  contemporary ethical theory

Shaundra Myers

Assistant Professor

Imani Owens

Assistant Professor
iowens@pitt.edu
412-624-6509

African American Literature and Culture

Shalini Puri

Professor
spuri@pitt.edu
412-624-2824

Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean, Modernism

Gayle Rogers

Associate Chair English Department, Professor Literature
grogers@pitt.edu

Global modernisms; comparative literature; empire; translation theory; critical history; English, American, and Spanish literatures; speculation and speculative fiction

William Scott

Associate Professor
wdscott@pitt.edu

American Literature, African American Literature, poetry and poetics 

John Twyning

Professor
twyning@pitt.edu
412-624-4114

Early modern literature & art

Jennifer Waldron

Associate Professor
Director of the Program in Medieval and Renaissance Studies jwaldron@pitt.edu

Renaissance Drama, Post-reformation Religious Literature

Courtney Weikle-Mills

Associate Professor
caw57@pitt.edu

Early American children’s literature and culture, theories of citizenship, readership and literacy, transatlantic 18th-century studies

Michael West

Professor
mikewest@pitt.edu
412-624-6543

English Renaissance, 19th-c American, Irish

Lecturers

Jeff Aziz

Lecturer II
Advisor, English Department jeffaziz@pitt.edu
412-624-2228

Early Modern, historiography

Mark Best

Film, Popular Culture

Ellen Bishop

Film, feminism, science fiction

Lori Campbell

Lecturer II
Advisor, English Department lmc5@pitt.edu
412-624-6559

Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Literature and Cultural Studies, Fantasy, Childhood Studies, Mythology, the Gothic, Romantic and Victorian literature

Robin Clarke

teaching, writing, political activism, poetry

Barbara Edelman

writing, literature, and composition, with a concentration in poetry and a particular interest in Shakespeare and in modern and contemporary poetry

Geoffrey Glover

the African American novel, twentieth-century American prose, and speculative fiction

Marylou Gramm

Senior Lecturer
mag20@pitt.edu

global composition studies, feminist theory, race and rhetoric, and early modern literary history

Mark Kemp

Senior Lecturer
Advisor, English Department mkemp@pitt.edu
412-624-6656

American, postcolonial literature, Literature of Americas, satire

Carol Mastrangelo Bové

Senior Lecturer cbove@pitt.edu
412-624-6631

Translation, psychoanalytic and feminist literary criticism and theory

Elizabeth Matway

Senior Lecturer
ebm12@pitt.edu
412-624-6533

Literature, composition, writing in the disciplines

Ken Salzer

Uma Satyavolu

Lecturer II
urs2@pitt.edu
412-624-7275

Ellen Smith

Poetry, Women's Lit, Early Modern, 18thC

Amy Murray Twyning

Lecturer II
Literature Program Assistant murraytwyning@gmail.com

Victorian, Children’s Literature, Detective Fiction, Film

Brenda Whitney